JOYO Product Reviews

Show:
Sort By:
Little red corvette
I've had this pedal for about 3 months now. It sits in front of a Laney Lionheart 5w combo. I play a Bareknuckle equipped Ibanez SZ, a 335, a Strat and an Ibanez Saber. This pedal works great with all my guitars which have a huge variance of tone and output. drive settings go from almost clean to very high gain. With the clipping switch and boost on/off can get anything from clean boost, through tubescreamer tones to modded marshall type gains. I generally use it with gain around 50% and the boost set to 60-70%, pre-distortion. This way, with a 2 channel amp I get 6 footswitchable tones just from amp and this pedal. Great value and cool tones.
ProsPros
  • Build quality, sounds and versatility.
Cons title=Cons
  • Volume difference between clip modes
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Awesome Versatile Overdrive!
Lincoln on 20/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-02 Ultimate Overdrive Guitar Effect Pedal
When I bought this pedal, having very little knowledge about Joyo, I wasn't expecting much. But it blew me away! It sounds amazing, and it can be used as a very low gain overdrive or a heavy distortion. Spectacular pedal!
ProsPros
  • Sounds great
  • Very versatile
  • Great build quality
Cons title=Cons
  • Slight background noise with high gain
  • Value5
  • Tone4
  • Build4
  • Total:4
Awesome Delay!
My first day pedal still one of my favourites! It is a great pedal with heaps of features and it sounds great! I use it almost always while playing live.
ProsPros
  • 4 Modes
  • 2 Channels
  • Build quality
Cons title=Cons
  • Tap tempo can be hard to use
  • Value5
  • Tone4
  • Build4
  • Total:4
Space filler!
Eoin Jennings on 12/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-09 Tremolo Guitar Effect Pedal
I had space on my board for one more pedal and though I have a tremolo effect on one of my amps was never happy with it. Felt it could add something as an effect on some Dire Straits and Blues I have been working on. I have been very satisfied with this. Have been able to dial in a subtle level of tremolo which adds a shimmer to those more laid back songs. Maybe could have done with an on pedal volume control but being picky. When I'm looking for a new effect or pedal Joyo is now my first port of call. I have been using a lot of Boss and had tried Behringer as lower cost options for some effects with mixed results (hissy and dulling of tone). Joyo gives much better quality at a great price. Have a couple more on my wish list!
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
TS tones at low cost
Eoin Jennings on 12/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-01 Vintage Overdrive Guitar Effect Pedal
I was looking to try a tubescreamer but wasn't sure about shelling out for the Ibanez TS as I'm mainly a Gibson player and with a number of overdrives including the BD I wasn't sure about how much use it would get. Then I came across this and thought I would give it a try. It has more than exceeded my expectations usually working it through a clean channel on my amp when using modest distortion playing blues with my strat. Ideal for this use. Recommended.
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Big sound from a small amp
Eoin Jennings on 12/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-02 Ultimate Overdrive Guitar Effect Pedal
LIke most home users I sometimes struggle to get the tone I am looking for when playing on small practice amps at home. I bought this having read some positive reviews as a secondary OD pedal. I have been blown away. It is more than a match for my considerably more expensive waza Boss super drive giving me a more hi-fi thicker tone. Very impressive at the low volumes I play at. Highly recommended.
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Squishy!!
Had a JF-10 Dyna Compressor first, not bad but when I read about this pedal and the fact that it is a parallel compressor, allowing you to mix more of less of the original signal in, I was sold. Pretty much a leave on pedal, works really well with my single coil equipped guitars, but can still tighten up the sound of my Ibanez, especially clean
Combined with my JF-10 it gives a great clean slide sound, a la Lowell George
ProsPros
  • Parallel compression in a minute package
  • Bullet-proof construction
Cons title=Cons
  • The name!!
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Does exactly what it say on the tin
Great LITTLE pedal. Placed it after my wah, compressor and overdrives and before my delays. Works very well, very simple to set, very responsive
ProsPros
  • Very responsive
  • Child's play to set up
Cons title=Cons
  • Nothing
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Another Green Overdrive
David Hunter on 10/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-01 Vintage Overdrive Guitar Effect Pedal
Another representation of an mid-humped Green overdrive pedal, which is excellent for the money. Also works well as a clean-ish boost, after my Ultimate Overdrive to raise the level for solos , or in front of my Ultimate Overdrive to push it into more gain
ProsPros
  • Great value
  • That mid-humped sound
Cons title=Cons
  • Nothing really
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
BUY one!!!!
David Hunter on 10/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-02 Ultimate Overdrive Guitar Effect Pedal
Bought one of these at the same time as the Vintage Overdrive. Ended up using that as a cleanish boost since the Ultimate Overdrive is just that. Massive range of available sounds, tones and drive levels. Work very well with the volume pot on your guitar, will clean up nicely when you drop the volume and then go to scream with the guitar flat out.
Only downside is the graphic, which pushes it into metal territory, and this pedal is so much more. Buy with you ears, not with your eyes
ProsPros
  • Massive range of sounds
  • Built like a tank
Cons title=Cons
  • Nothing other than graphics
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Great tremolo pedal
David Hunter on 10/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-09 Tremolo Guitar Effect Pedal
Bought one of these as I wanted to have tremolo in only one or two songs. Great sound, very versatile, the only downside being there is no level control and the higher the intensity is set the greater in variation of volume and it can seem to dip in volume compared to your clean sound
ProsPros
  • Great tone
  • Very wide range
Cons title=Cons
  • Needs a level pot to boost your output
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Great little time machine
Bought one of these when I first saw them, ended up with 2 on my pedal-board at one time as I need a few different delays during the course of a set. Very versatile, great price. All modes are useful, with only the reverse being less useful.
An upgraded version 2 is rumoured which would be nice
ProsPros
  • 4 modes
  • 2 channels/memory slots
  • Lots of bang for your buck
Cons title=Cons
  • Can't switch channels in bypass
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Best I have tried..
Johnny Green on 07/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-10 Dynamic Compressor Guitar Effect Pedal
I have the 'green' compressor pedal that has been on the market for quite a while now. I use it with my Vintage Bass guitar when I play with my band 'Tunky Pig'. What can I say, it does exactly what a compressor should and more. The 'dynamic' boost is instantly noticable, because we play classic rock, (Surprise, surprise...lol.) Zepplin, AC/DC, and Hawkwind amongst them, I need a variety of 'sounds and tones' from clean/smooth right through to gritty/dirt. I like a quite 'steep' attack and this pedal does it better than any other pedal I have ever used, including my old Ashdown Dual, and a Keeley, (That I borrowed of a friend) When pushing the 'sustain' up, I can sometimes make my notes ring for longer than our lead guitarist on his Gibson going through his Marshall and a Vox valve amplifier, and his pedal board which is just a little smaller than a battleship...lol. I wouldn't swap it for any other compressor out there on the market regardles of cost and plan to add some more JOYO pedals to add to the versatility of my sound...(Not too many, no-one likes to see a bass player with a pedal board...lol... I will be looking at a flanger and an envelope filter) I couldn't recommend this pedal enough, I get complimented on the tone all the time, had it for over 3 years and never had the slightest bit of trouble with it, and, to be honest, I don't expect to. Great job JOYO, looking forward to owning more. As for a star rating, you don't say how many stars it is out of. If it was out of five stars, I would be giving it a five without doubt.
ProsPros
  • It does everything it should
  • and more
Cons title=Cons
  • When I find one I will add it.
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
AC-Tone
Crikey! This is an awesome little pedal!

I'm using mine straight into a pa system and it works exactly for what I need it for. The Voice dial gives me a nice range of different amp sounds as well as the drive and tone dials added to the overall exceptional sounds that comes from this cheap, nice little pedal.

Highly Recommend.
ProsPros
  • small
  • full of tone
  • easy to use
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Very good
Si Wilkins on 06/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-01 Vintage Overdrive Guitar Effect Pedal
Great sound - just what I need, and brilliant value. The only problem I've experienced is that it is very noisy if powered by an AC adapter with the battery left in; but take the battery out and it works fine.
ProsPros
  • Sound
  • Value
Cons title=Cons
  • power supply wiring
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build4
  • Total:5
Dirty bass boost!
Logan M on 06/07/2016
Reviewed : Dr.J D-52 Soloman Bass Overdrive Effect Pedal
Great little overdrive for pushing my 'hot' bass solos (not my words, honest). The knobs are big enough to see under romantic lighting (or stage lighting) and can be adjusted using your foot when you realise you forgot to set the levels before you started the song.
Only two knobs for those of us that desire something simple and true bypass so you don't lose any sick bass tone.
Not standard shape, but if you place it in "portrait mode" then it fits a standard sized pedal spot and your foot is less likely to hit knobs when switching. Cabling is then just in the top and out the bottom.
ProsPros
  • Big knobs
  • "Simpel"
  • Looks antique
  • Heaps of volume boost
  • Heaps of dirt
Cons title=Cons
  • Not standard shape
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build4
  • Total:5
Simple delay
Filip on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-08 Digital Delay Guitar Effect Pedal
Also, another pedal I bought for my father along British sound.
There are few issues with this pedal, as time is not working as it should, but overall, great delay for money.
I'm owning D-SEED and I like it better than this one. But if you can't afford D-SEED, this is a really great pedal!
  • Value4
  • Tone5
  • Build4
  • Total:4
True British tone
Filip on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-16 British Sound Guitar Effect Pedal
I bought this pedal for my father. I'm not using it that much as it's not my pedal, but whenever I have a chance, I'm playing around with it.
As my father doesn't have a marshall amp, it gave him that Marshall tone and drive. We both love the sound!
It's little warmer and there is less drive then AC tone, but still pretty good pedal!
Recommended!
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
True ac-tone
I own old Italian copy of AC30 and I can say, sound is really close.
I like both, clean and drive sound.
I'm using it on my other amp, which is some Marshall hand made, and it opened my sound so much!
I'm really happy with it.
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Great flanger!
Filip on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-07 Classic Flanger Guitar Effect Pedal
So, I'm using this pedal for more than two years. I'm using it mostly in effects loop.
Sounds go from flanger to chorus so sometimes I'm using it as chorus pedal for clean sounds, and for lead as full flanger.
Never had any problems with it.
ProsPros
  • Lots of controls
  • Lots of different sounds
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Great chorus
Filip on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-37 Analog Chorus Guitar Effect Pedal
Bought it 2 years ago and been using it ever since.
It get's the job done. Never removed it from pedalboard.
ProsPros
  • Durability
  • High quality
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Great pedal!
I bought two of these.
I'm using one in front of the amp and other one in effect loop. Loving it so much!
In front it gives really nice overdrive, but in loop I've set it up on 9 o'clock (just a bit) so it can boost my signal.
Recommended!
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Excellent!!
I bought D-SEED 2 years ago because I wanted delay, and as this delay is offering 2 channels and 4 mods, it was must have.
I'm using it every since and I'm happy with it.
I've modified my footswitch 2 buttons, one for changing channels on my amp, other one I've connected to D-SEED, so it's easier to change channels.
Only thing I don't like is when it's in bypass, you can't switch channels.
ProsPros
  • 4 mods
  • 2 channels
  • external footswitch
Cons title=Cons
  • Can't switch channels while in bypass
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
The great Gate Of Khan
This pedal is a must for anyone wanting to play rock or anything heavier. It's as good if not better than any gate I have used in the past, I can thoroughly recommend it. Buy from this site direct as the prices are as low as anywhere I found and the delivery is super fast. great service, will use again.
ProsPros
  • Size, rugid built, great looking
Cons title=Cons
  • Still looking, don't hold your breath
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
My staple guitar compressor
Logan M on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-10 Dynamic Compressor Guitar Effect Pedal
This has been the only compressor on my board for years now. Use it when I use some guitars and need to keep them 'under control' a bit.
Full adjustment of settings all desirable settings even on quite a small pedal and true bypass, so doesn't colour your tone!
ProsPros
  • Small
  • Great attack
  • True bypass
  • 9V standard
  • Low noise
Cons title=Cons
  • Maybe green isn't your colour?
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Forget the OCD
Glenn Mayo on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-02 Ultimate Overdrive Guitar Effect Pedal
Buy this instead. It has more gain than the OCD and it completely rocks. Brilliantly aggressive little overdrive pedal and it more than hangs with other much ore expensive pedals on my board. Remember, just because it's cheap, doesn't mean to say that it's bad. And this one definitely isn't. I acutally recommened the UD to a lot of my friends. Some of them bought one and they feel like I do about it. Awesome value for money.
ProsPros
  • Loads of musical gain.
Cons title=Cons
  • None
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Brilliant bit of kit
I've had a PXL Live for some time now and I've nothing but good things to say about it. It made my effect switching sooooo much simpler, I dont know how I got by without it. Super-simple to set up and program and no noise or discernable lag when switching. There are more fully-featured switchers out there but at twice the price. This switcher be can't be beaten for VFM. Highly recommended. If it got nicked, I'd buy another without hesitation.
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Fender tones in a tiny box...
This pedal will give you all the classic fender tones from silver face thru black face and on to tweed. Just use the voice control to set it where the tone takes your fancy. All the way to the left and you are in silver face territory, all the way to the right and it gets lovely and tweedy. the 12 'o' clock position gets you blackface.

Once you have your tone flip the lid over and you are good to go every time. I have two of these, one clean and one crunchy. I have a wah and overdrive feeding into the clean which then cascades into the crunch. Fantastic tone which is then fed into a series of stereo pedals (sadly not JOYO) which then give me a left and right directly into the PA.

Great tone and I don't have to lug my amp around any more, I have gigged with this set up many times and I always get complimented on my tone....
  • Value4
  • Tone5
  • Build5
  • Total:5
joyo jf-08
william legg on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-08 Digital Delay Guitar Effect Pedal
This is a great pedal,it sounds great,it is amazingly versatile and incredible value for money!
I am no gear head so a pedal that does what it says on the tin and well is ideal for me....this is it!
ProsPros
  • cheap,sounds fantastic,versatile
Cons title=Cons
  • nothing
  • Value5
  • Tone4
  • Build5
  • Total:5
Versatile pedal for an unbeatable price
Rory Haggart on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-11 6-Band Equalizer Guitar Effect Pedal
What a fantastic pedal for such a great price! Very versatile and allows for such a great range of sounds from complete bass, treble and mid cuts or boosts, and anything in between. The notches in the slide scale are very handy for finding the level of no boosting or cutting. I couldn't have wished for better quality of build and versatility for such a price. The only flaw for me would be that the sliders feel a tad flimsy.
  • Value5
  • Tone5
  • Build4
  • Total:5
It is the best pedal I have. everything works properly and its sound quality is 100%. You can not ask for more.

Pedals brands have higher quality and continuous with it, since years ago
  •  5
Mr J K Underwood on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-05 Classic Chorus Guitar Effect Pedal
As good a sound, as pedals costing four times as much. I like this pedal for its full rounded sound. and affordable cost.
  •  5
Fern on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-39 Deluxe Crunch Guitar Effect Pedal
Very versatile pedal. Their sound is crispy and hot with a lot of profit. Their advantage is sii is played with the treble control and presence many sounds are achieved.

It can also be used as overdrive. Very good
  •  4
Alexander Lazarov on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-02 Ultimate Overdrive Guitar Effect Pedal
Great value for the price! Sounds very open and dynamic
  •  5
Mr J.K.underwood on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-08 Digital Delay Guitar Effect Pedal
A good solid delay pedal with a wide range of delay.
  •  5
Joe Morgans on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-01 Vintage Overdrive Guitar Effect Pedal
I've had one of these for a few months and I can honestly say its the most used pedal on my board.
It sounds just like a tube screamer pedal but for a fraction of the price. The only down side is that the tone adjustment is a bit 2 dimensional - aka doesn't have much of an effect on the sounds (unless you wind it right around, then it sounds very harsh), but it is still a useful function and the pedal produces a really good, all round overdrive sound.

Anyone who is thinking of getting it... GET IT! For the price and quality, you can't go wrong.
  •  4
Mr J.K.underwood on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JP-02 Guitar Effect Pedal Multi Power Supply
I use this power supply to power 11 pedals , with output 8- 500ma supplying a tuner and 2 pedals. I find it quiet with no noise. and as with all the Joyo poducts very affordable.
  •  5
Justin Bradford on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-317 Space Verb Reverb Mini Guitar Effect Pedal
This Space Verb is a beauty!

The tiny size of it leaves great for room on my board, the knob-guard is great for saving your position (not that I'd ever worry about bumping the knobs) the pedal has a nice weight to it, too!

Four knobs, Decay (Room size), Mix (Blend), Tone (Frequency) four reverb settings on the last knob; Room, Hall, Plate & Church. I'm a huge fan of the Church / Hall sounds for those massive reverb sounds, I like to increase the decay and lower the mix to blend the huge sound with my original signal. Another handy feature is that when you turn it off it trails the reverb so it sounds more natural during play.

I actually leave it on at all times instead of using my amp reverb as it is too subtle even at maximum volume, and I do love having the option to switch it off should I want or need to with certain sounds.

I love the option of velcro/foam adhesive for the bottom. I went straight to velcro and it hasn't left my board since I got it.

10/10 would recommend
  •  5
andy butler on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-16 British Sound Guitar Effect Pedal
The 'British' is an amp simulator, meant to enable you to produce the sound of a Marshall amp and speaker when DI'ing your guitar. It has buffered bypass (unlike most other Joyo pedals) which makes a lot of sense in when using as a DI, you can easily compare with the dry sound. The buffer is of good quality, I didn't get any 'tone suck'.

It can of course be used in front of an amp as a distortion/boost.

I wrote a long and complementary review...but the website here only accepts 100 characters max so you'll not see it.
  •  5
Gianfranco on 05/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-17 Extreme Metal Guitar Effect Pedal
excellent. excellent value for money
  •  4
The Joyo Dynamics Compressor is a great compressor, low noise, and doesn't colour your tone, great budget compressor that works well in the studio and live
  •  4
George on 04/07/2016
Reviewed : JOYO JF-01 Vintage Overdrive Guitar Effect Pedal
Absolutely fantastic value for money, this pedal. Cheap but does not lose out on quality. Perfect for a subtle, softer overdrive effect with a good tone. Can be adjusted to give a heavier crunch to your sound.
  •  5